All zones
STEP BY STEP

Setting up in the UAE: every step

The company is the first step. This page covers the rest: what you must sort out next, what each thing asks of a founder who lives abroad, and what it costs. Every figure has its source. These are the options a founder would look at. No seller pays to be on this page.

1 Form the company

Start here. We compare 12 free zones and what each one charges.

2 Open a business bank account

A company with a trade licence still needs a bank account before it can take payments and pay costs. The main trap is residency: several banks ask for an Emirates ID, or for at least one signatory who lives in the UAE. A regulated digital account can be easier to open from abroad than a bank account.

What to know

  • Mashreq's key facts statement for NEO BIZ says at least one partner or power-of-attorney holder on the account must be a UAE resident. It also says the business must be owned 100% by individuals, with no layered structures. mashreq.com/-/jssmedia/pdfs/neobiz/kfs/neobi…
  • Emirates NBD's online route asks for valid passports and Emirates IDs of all partners and authorised signatories. It accepts only sole proprietors or single-layer companies where the final owners are individuals. A company with a company as its owner must use a different application link. emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/open-busines…
  • RAKBANK's application page lists the passports and Emirates IDs of signatories and tells the applicant: 'You will need to be in the UAE'. quickapply.rakbank.ae/digitalbank/business/accounts/cu…
  • Hubpay is licensed in the ADGM as an electronic money institution, not as a bank. Its own page says it onboards free zone companies where all principals are non-resident, fully digitally. hubpay.io/pricing
  • Mashreq's key facts statement says it may charge fees 30 days after the trade licence expires, stop the cheque book after 90 days and freeze debit after 180 days. Keep the licence renewed. mashreq.com/-/jssmedia/pdfs/neobiz/kfs/neobi…

Options and published costs

Hubpay Business Account regulated online business account (ADGM EMI)
Founder abroad: Accepted

Hubpay's FAQ says it onboards free zone and offshore-structured entities where all principals are non-resident, subject to standard KYC. It asks for the trade licence, passport copies of all directors and shareholders, and proof of business address. It says no minimum balance.

Starter plan
99 AED a month hubpay.io/pricing
Scale plan
299 AED a month hubpay.io/pricing
International payment, Starter
26 AED each payment hubpay.io/pricing
International payment, Scale
AED 52.50 (shared) or AED 65 (sender pays all) hubpay.io/pricing
Minimum balance
0 AED hubpay.io/pricing

All prices are plus 5% VAT. The page offers a 30-day free trial.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Wio Business digital bank
Founder abroad: Not stated

Third parties say Wio runs a video-check route for non-resident directors with some passports, and that other sources say an Emirates ID is needed. Wio's own pages do not state a residency rule. They say onboarding is digital: you scan an ID and verify with a recording.

Wio says an account takes about 3 working days after you submit documents. Wio's own pages gave no minimum balance.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: With conditions

The key facts statement says at least one partner or power-of-attorney holder must be a UAE resident. The page asks for the trade licence, memorandum of association, address proof and identity documents of the partners.

NEO BIZ Pro, monthly fee
AED 99 + VAT mashreq.com/-/jssmedia/pdfs/neobiz/kfs/neobi…
NEO BIZ Pro Plus, monthly fee
AED 199 + VAT mashreq.com/-/jssmedia/pdfs/neobiz/kfs/neobi…
Minimum balance and fall-below fee
None on Pro and Pro Plus mashreq.com/en/uae/neobiz/banking-solution/d…

The page promises an account in 1 day or AED 1,000. Debit cards go only to single-signatory accounts.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: With conditions

The online route asks for passports and Emirates IDs of all partners and authorised signatories, and a six-month bank statement of the company or of the partner for a new company.

Connect package, monthly fee
249 AED a month emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/business-pac…
Prime package, monthly fee
99 AED a month emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/business-pac…
Prime package, minimum average balance
50,000 AED emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/business-pac…
Prime package, fall-below fee
150 AED a month emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/business-pac…
Connect package, minimum balance
0 AED emiratesnbd.com/en/business-banking/business-pac…

Connect has limited branch access and higher transaction fees. Other packages start at AED 50,000 or more in minimum balance.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: With conditions

The application page lists the trade licence, passports and Emirates IDs of signatories, and proof of address. It says the applicant needs to be in the UAE.

RAKstarter, minimum monthly balance
0 AED quickapply.rakbank.ae/digitalbank/business
RAKstarter, monthly maintenance (includes 5% VAT)
103.95 AED a month quickapply.rakbank.ae/digitalbank/business
Business Current, minimum average balance
25,000 AED quickapply.rakbank.ae/digitalbank/business
Business Current, fall-back fee (includes 5% VAT)
52.5 AED a month quickapply.rakbank.ae/digitalbank/business

RAKBANK's page says RAKstarter is for start-ups. We did not find on that page how old the company may be.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: Accepted

FAB's accounts page says the Business Call Account is available to both UAE residents and non-residents. It does not list the documents a non-resident owner must show.

Minimum monthly average balance
10,000 AED bankfab.com/en-ae/business-banking/fees-and-…
Outward transfer to another country
70 AED each payment bankfab.com/en-ae/business-banking/fees-and-…

Other FAB accounts are not stated to be open to non-residents. Basic account: AED 250 monthly maintenance.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: Not stated

Zand's fee schedule and terms do not state a rule on non-resident owners.

Account opening
0 AED once zand.ae/files/Zand-Fees-&-Charges.pdf
Minimum monthly average balance
250,000 AED zand.ae/files/Zand-Fees-&-Charges.pdf
Fall-below fee
500 AED a month zand.ae/files/Zand-Fees-&-Charges.pdf
Outward foreign-currency transfer
AED 55 equivalent plus correspondent bank charges zand.ae/files/Zand-Fees-&-Charges.pdf

The AED 250,000 minimum is high for a new company.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: Wio's own pages do not state whether an owner abroad can open an account, or the minimum balance. Zand does not state its non-resident rule on its own pages. Emirates NBD, Mashreq and RAKBANK pages do not say if a branch or video route exists for owners abroad. We did not find the age limit for RAKstarter on RAKBANK's page. Wio's Swift transfer fee: the currency symbol was missing in the text we read, so we left it out.

3 Take payments from customers

A UAE company can take card payments through a local gateway or through Stripe. Most gateways ask for the trade licence and a UAE bank account for payouts. Fees differ by plan, so compare the monthly fee and the per-payment rate together.

What to know

Options and published costs

Stripe (UAE) payment gateway
Founder abroad: Not stated

Stripe's UAE pricing page does not state who may sign up.

Domestic cards
2.9% + AED 1.00 stripe.com/ae/pricing
Set-up and monthly fees
0 AED a month stripe.com/ae/pricing
Dispute received
60 AED stripe.com/ae/pricing

Stripe says it has no set-up fee, no monthly fee and no hidden fees. International card rates are on the page but not in the text we read.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Telr payment gateway
Founder abroad: With conditions

The pricing page says a valid trade licence is mandatory. It does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Startup plan (volume AED 0 to 9,999 a month)
249 AED a month telr.com/pricing
Entry plan (AED 10,000 to 24,999 a month)
199 AED a month telr.com/pricing
Small plan (AED 25,000 to 49,999 a month)
99 AED a month telr.com/pricing
Medium plan (AED 50,000 a month or more)
2.25% + AED 0.50 telr.com/pricing

The plan table on the page is hard to read, so check the rate for your volume before you sign up. All fees plus 5% VAT.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Mamo payment gateway and payment links
Founder abroad: With conditions

Mamo says it is for businesses registered and operating in the UAE, and asks for a UAE bank account and the trade licence. It lists Emirates ID among documents that can be missing in failed checks.

Growth plan, monthly fee
0 AED a month mamopay.com/pricing
Growth plan, UAE cards
2.9% + AED 1 mamopay.com/pricing
Growth plan, international cards
3.4% + AED 1 mamopay.com/pricing
Premium plan, monthly fee
99 AED a month mamopay.com/pricing
Premium plan, UAE cards
2.7% + AED 0.8 mamopay.com/pricing

The page says Premium is for businesses that collect AED 50,000 or more a month. Payouts take 5 business days unless you pay for same-day.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Ziina payment links and wallet app
Founder abroad: Not stated

Ziina's fee page does not state who may open a business account.

Receive card payments to a business account
0 AED each payment ziina.com/fees
Cash-out, from 1 November 2026
1 AED each payment ziina.com/fees

Fees are plus 5% VAT. We read the fee page only, not the sign-up rules.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Network International (N-Genius) payment gateway and card terminals
Founder abroad: Not stated

The merchant agreement we read does not state a rule on owners abroad.

No published price.

Network's merchant agreement says a minimum volume fee applies when monthly volume is AED 20,000 or less. The amount is set in your application, not published.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: Stripe: no page we read states who may open a UAE account, or the international card rate. Telr: set-up fee not published on the pricing page. PayTabs: set-up fee amount not published; the SMB figures come from a migration notice, not a general price page. Network International: no set-up, monthly or per-payment price published. Ziina, Nomod, Telr, PayTabs: sign-up rules for owners abroad not stated on pages we read.

4 Register for tax and file on time

Every UAE company must register for corporate tax, even a free zone company that expects to pay 0%. The 0% rate for free zone companies has conditions, and an audit is one of them. Register on time: the late penalty is fixed and the deadline is short.

What to know

  • A company set up in the UAE, including a free zone company, must apply for corporate tax registration within three months of its incorporation. Registration is through the FTA's EmaraTax portal. tax.gov.ae/en/media.centre/news/federal.tax…
  • The late registration penalty is AED 10,000. The first tax return is due nine months after the end of the first tax period. The FTA waives the penalty if the company files that return within seven months. tax.gov.ae/Datafolder/Files/Pdf/2025/CTP006…
  • Standard corporate tax is 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above it. A Qualifying Free Zone Person pays 0% on qualifying income and 9% on other income, and does not get the AED 375,000 band. tax.gov.ae/DataFolder/Files/Pdf/2024/Determ…
  • To be a Qualifying Free Zone Person, a company must meet all of these: adequate substance in a free zone, qualifying income, no election for standard rates, arm's length dealings with related parties plus transfer pricing papers, audited financial statements, and non-qualifying revenue under the lower of AED 5 million or 5% of revenue. tax.gov.ae/Datafolder/Files/Pdf/2024/CT%20B…
  • VAT registration is mandatory when taxable supplies and imports pass AED 375,000 in 12 months, or are expected to in the next 30 days. It is voluntary from AED 187,500. The application is due within 30 days of the duty to register. tax.gov.ae/en/taxes/vat/vat.topics/registra…
  • Economic substance reports are no longer needed for financial years ending after 31 December 2022. Beneficial-owner registers are still required: Cabinet Decision 109 of 2023 covers licensed companies, including commercial free zones. Ask your free zone how it collects them. mof.gov.ae/en/news/ministry-of-finance-anno…

Options and published costs

Founder abroad: Not stated

The FTA pages we read do not state a rule on owners abroad. They say registration is available through EmaraTax, a registered tax agent, or a government service centre.

No published price.

The FTA says registration takes about four steps and 30 minutes. It did not list a government fee on the pages we read.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Founder abroad: Not stated

The page does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Up to 10 transactions a year
350 AED a month emiratesbusinesssetup.com/services/accounting-and-tax-serv… Third party
Up to 50 transactions a year
450 AED a month emiratesbusinesssetup.com/services/accounting-and-tax-serv… Third party
Up to 200 transactions a year
650 AED a month emiratesbusinesssetup.com/services/accounting-and-tax-serv… Third party
Up to 2,000 transactions a year
899 AED a month emiratesbusinesssetup.com/services/accounting-and-tax-serv… Third party
Up to 3,600 transactions a year
1,750 AED a month emiratesbusinesssetup.com/services/accounting-and-tax-serv… Third party

Every package includes corporate tax registration and filing, VAT filing and monthly bookkeeping. EBS also sells company setup.

Read 5 Oct 2026

TaxReady accounting firm
Founder abroad: Not stated

The page does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Simplify (not VAT registered, up to 25 transactions a year)
4,935 AED a year taxready.ae/packages Third party
Essential (up to 10 transactions a month, no VAT work)
9,948 AED a year taxready.ae/packages Third party
Comprehensive (up to 10 transactions a month, with VAT)
11,988 AED a year taxready.ae/packages Third party

TaxReady bills yearly only. Its page says external audit fees are not included.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Meydan Free Zone mAccounting free zone accounting service
Founder abroad: With conditions

The page offers the service to companies in Meydan Free Zone. It asks for the business licence, office Ejari, manager and shareholder passports and the memorandum of association.

Corporate Tax Starter, billed yearly
100 AED a month meydanfz.ae/meydan-plus/maccounting/corporat…
Corporate Tax 300 (up to 300 transactions, VAT filing), billed yearly
900 AED a month meydanfz.ae/meydan-plus/maccounting/corporat…

Starter covers registration and filing with basic bookkeeping. CT 300 adds monthly reports and VAT filing.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Kitaab online accounting firm
Founder abroad: Not stated

The page does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Bookkeeping and tax, up to AED 50,000 monthly expenses
900 AED a month kitaab.ai/pricing Third party
Bookkeeping and tax, up to AED 100,000 monthly expenses
1,600 AED a month kitaab.ai/pricing Third party
Bookkeeping and tax, up to AED 175,000 monthly expenses
2,300 AED a month kitaab.ai/pricing Third party
Business Launchpad package
19,500 AED a year kitaab.ai/pricing Third party

The page shows a monthly and yearly billing switch with a 25% saving, so we could not tell which billing the figures show.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: We did not find a government fee for corporate tax registration on the FTA pages we read. We did not find a published price for an independent audit of a free zone company. TaxReady says audit fees are extra. We did not confirm which free zones ask for audited accounts at licence renewal. We did not read a government page that states the UBO register process for each free zone. Accounting firms: none stated a rule for owners abroad.

5 Get a registered address

The licence needs a registered office address. In many free zones the office is part of the licence package. A separate lease and Ejari matter more on the mainland, and in Dubai when a bank or authority asks for proof of address.

What to know

Options and published costs

Founder abroad: Accepted

Meydan's page says a founder in London or Bangalore setting up before moving can use the flexi-desk, and that it covers the office requirement.

Dedicated desk
3,500 AED a month meydanfz.ae/blog/meydan-free-zone-flexi-desk…
Dedicated office
30,000 AED a year meydanfz.ae/blog/meydan-free-zone-flexi-desk…

You can only use this address with a Meydan licence.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Oh My Desk virtual office with Ejari virtual office with Ejari
Founder abroad: Accepted

The page says a virtual office is enough for one or two people working from home or from abroad who need a compliant licence.

Virtual office with Ejari (Downtown Dubai address)
8,000 AED a year ohmydesk.com/services/virtual-office-ejari Third party

The page says Dubai Land Department fees are not included, and that this package gives no visa quota.

Read 5 Oct 2026

Trident NEXUS Business Center business centre with Ejari
Founder abroad: Not stated

The page does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Virtual office with Ejari
4,000 AED a year tridentnx.com Third party
Flexi-desk with Ejari
7,500 AED a year tridentnx.com Third party

The page says it is in Bur Dubai and supports bank and labour inspections.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: We did not find an official page that says which free zones need a separate Ejari. Meydan and Oh My Desk say different things about free-zone use. Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and other emirates' lease registration rules were not checked. Prices for flexi-desks in free zones other than Meydan were not verified on official pages.

6 Buy the health insurance the law requires

A residence visa needs health insurance in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, and since 1 January 2025 in the other emirates too. The employer pays for employees. An owner who sponsors themselves must buy their own cover. The cheapest plans are basic and have limits.

What to know

  • Dubai's Health Insurance Law (No. 11 of 2013) applies across the emirate, including free zones such as DIFC. An employer must enrol employees and pay the cost. A sponsor must enrol the people it sponsors who have no employer. dlp.dubai.gov.ae/Legislation%20Reference/2013/Law…
  • In Abu Dhabi, an employer must cover employees and their families, and a sponsor must cover those it sponsors. The law says a non-UAE national may not get or renew a residence permit without enrolling in the scheme. doh.gov.ae/-/media/0BE585B5E6814D81913697DD…
  • Since 1 January 2025, employers in Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah and Umm Al Quwain must buy health insurance before a residence permit is issued or renewed. This is the same rule that already applied in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. mohre.gov.ae/en/guidance-and-awareness-portal…
  • MoHRE's basic scheme costs AED 320 a year and runs for two years. Inpatient care has a 20% co-payment and outpatient care 25%. Pregnancy, childbirth and dental care are not covered. mohre.gov.ae/en/guidance-and-awareness-portal…

Options and published costs

Founder abroad: With conditions

The page is for Dubai visa holders and asks for the Emirates ID and residency visa copy.

Dependent child or other dependent
1,200 AED meydanfz.ae/meydan-plus/mresidency/medical-i…

The page says issuance depends on applicant details and insurer approval. It does not say the fee is yearly, so we do not give a period.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: We did not find a published price for a plan above the basic level for a founder who earns more than AED 4,000 a month. Daman's page did not show a basic plan price. We did not find prices for business cover such as professional indemnity or public liability, and we did not find a rule that free zones require it. Meydan's page does not state the policy period for its fees.

7 Pay yourself and your first hire

Employees need a work permit and a residence visa. The company must pay their wages through the Wage Protection System in most cases. A founder who owns the company holds an investor or partner visa, which is a different type from an employment visa.

What to know

  • MoHRE says private-sector establishments must pay wages monthly, in the agreed amount and on time, through the Wage Protection System (WPS) with approved banks, financial institutions or exchange houses. mohre.gov.ae/en/guidance-and-awareness-portal…
  • Free zones apply this their own way. DMCC's guide says its companies must register every employee with an active or expired employment visa for salary transfer. It says shareholders are not obliged to register. Check your own zone's rule. dmcc.ae/hubfs/website%20support%20docume…
  • DMCC says free zone visas are issued by the zone authority, not through MoHRE. Employment visas and partner or investor visas are separate types. Partner and investor eligibility follows the shareholding. dmcc.ae/blog/the-4-types-of-dubai-free-z…
  • Banks charge for WPS differently. Mashreq NEO BIZ Pro and Pro Plus list free WPS salary transfers. Zand charges AED 2 per record. mashreq.com/-/jssmedia/pdfs/neobiz/kfs/neobi…

Options and published costs

Entegrix UAE payroll payroll provider
Founder abroad: Not stated

The page does not state a rule on owners abroad.

Lite plan (1 to 5 staff), per employee
195 AED a month entegrix.com/uae/services/payroll Third party
Lite plan, minimum
750 AED a month entegrix.com/uae/services/payroll Third party
Growth plan (6 to 20 staff), per employee
165 AED a month entegrix.com/uae/services/payroll Third party
Scale plan (21 to 50 staff), per employee
125 AED a month entegrix.com/uae/services/payroll Third party

The page says there is no set-up fee, and that Meydan, IFZA, DMCC, JAFZA, Shams and AFZ require standard WPS.

Read 5 Oct 2026

We could not find: We did not find a government page that states whether an owner on an investor visa must be paid through WPS. DMCC says shareholders are not obliged at DMCC. We did not find the WPS rule for each free zone, only DMCC. We did not find a published payroll price from Deel, Remote or Oyster for the UAE. Government visa fees for an employment visa versus an investor visa were not compared here.